top of page

What's the real nutrient level in locally sourced foods?

Nutrients are substances that provide nourishment for organisms. They can be derived from other organisms, for example protein or vitamins, or from inorganic sources. Here we focus on inorganic sources, such as the chemical elements nitrogen and phosphorus, which are necessary for sustaining life.

What are the 4 types of nutrient standards?

Dietary Reference Intakes (DRIs) is a generic term for a set of nutrient reference values that includes the Recommended Dietary Allowance (RDA), Adequate Intake (AI), Tolerable Upper Intake Level (UL), and Estimated Average Requirement (EAR). What does high nutrient mean?

Nutrient-dense foods are rich in vitamins, minerals and other nutrients important for health, without too much saturated fat, added sugars and sodium. We're talking fruits, vegetables, whole grains, non-fat and low-fat dairy, fish and seafood, unprocessed lean meat and skinless poultry, nuts and legumes.

5 views0 comments


bottom of page